Splice Magazine

Licensed Publication of Splice Media Group

Fencer Announce Self-Titled Debut Album and Latest Single “Joseph Courtney.”

Breaking News – The Los Angeles based rock trio, Fencer have announced their long awaited self-titled debut album and release date of February 3rd, 2023 via Blood Blast Distribution. This milestone marks the band’s first self-produced release, composed of 10-tracks and what is considered to be their most authentic work yet. Fans can pre-save the album here.

The album announcement is accompanied by the release of their latest single “Joseph Courtney.” If you are a fan or want to check out the recent single, stream the powerful cut “Joseph Courtney” here.

Speaking on the album announcement, vocalist Field Cate shares:

“We are excited to announce our self-titled debut album, “Fencer”. This was entirely produced, written, and performed by the three of us. Every sound, every decision, every minute detail. It was all Cameron, Scott, and I. It’s Fencer through and through and this is the record we wanted to make. Heavy, soft, silly, sad, raw, emotional. Very blue. We will forever be proud of this project and these songs because it’s just us. And it’s been all ours for so long, the idea of release something so intimate is really weird. But I’m glad people will be able to hear what we spent those countless hours doing all alone in our little lockout. I hope it invokes some kind of feeling in you when you hear it, whatever that is. It’s important to feel.”

Announce Self-Titled Debut Album

Out On February 3 via Blood Blast Distribution

Pre-Save HERE

           Speaking on the brand new track,”Joseph Courtney,”, vocalist Field Cate continues:

Oh, well hello! Meet Joseph Courtney. He’s angry, sexy, and utterly intense. Able to control a crowd and thrive off the attention. He’s a star. Someone and something I aspire to be. A concept that cures my insecurities and allows me to lose a bit of sanity. I like that. He’s my alter ego. Why deal with cards I’ve been dealt when I can just pretend to be someone else? He’s perfect. He’s Joseph Courtney. You love him.”

Not only was “Joseph Courtney” and the upcoming album self-produced, but it was mixed by Henry Lunetta (5 Seconds Of Summer, State Champs, Grayscale) and mastered by Zach Fisher (Weezer, Rancid, Bad Religion). Prior to today’s release, Fencer had previously dropped tracks “Junebug”, “Sanitarium”, and a cover of Morphine’s “Buena,” which has racked up over 1.5 million listens across all streaming platforms. Be sure to stay tuned for more Fencer news coming soon.


Track Listing:

  1. Come On, Keep Screaming
  2. Couch
  3. Buena
  4. Sleepcount
  5. Fishfriend
  6. Sanitarium
  7. Velvet Jetski
  8. Joseph Courtney
  9. You’re The Prey
  10. Bad Bet