Splice Magazine

Splice Media Group

Fatboy Slim’s You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby

Fatboy Slim’s You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby

20th Anniversary Edition to be Released on March 16, 2018, via Astralwerks

Available For Preorder Now On Amazon And Vinyl Me Please

Listen on Spotify HERE

You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby available on deluxe edition CD and LP formats. Format packaging including 180g gatefold vinyl, 6 page 12” roll-fold booklet (LP), 12” display art card (LP) and 28-page booklet (CD)

Exclusive anniversary sleeve notes from Ralph Moore (Mixmag) and album timeline from Damian Harris (Skint Records)

Limited-Edition Blue Vinyl with Coffee Splatter Color Variant Available

Exclusively At Vinyl Me Please

Fatboy Slim announces today the forthcoming 20th anniversary reissue of You’ve Come a Long Way, Baby, to be released on March 16 via Astralwerks. The preorder for the reissue is now available via Amazon and Vinyl Me Please. A limited-edition blue vinyl with coffee splatter color variant will also be released. Strictly limited to 2,000 copies worldwide, the blue vinyl is available for purchase exclusively at Vinyl Me Please. A limited edition Fatboy Slim Meal Deal product is available exclusively to Fatboy Slim’s webstore which includes hand screen printed, branded pizza box set, signed and numbered by Fatboy Slim, Anniversary 2LP and CD and authentic I’m #20 So Why Try Harder XXL T-shirt. Watch the pizza box / meal deal video HERE.

2018 marks twenty years since the release of the album that spawned era-defining singles “Rockafeller Skank,” “Gangster Trippin,” ‘Praise You” and “Right Here Right Now.” You’ve Come a Long Way Baby reached Number One in the UK album album charts, breaking the US Billboard Top 40, creating a global superstar and putting a new wave of UK dance music on the global map.

First released in 1998, You’ve Come a Long Way Baby become one of the defining records of the ‘90s, irrespective of genre. Swinging from hip-hop, to reggae and jangle pop, with You’ve Come a Long Way Baby, Norman Cook broke stylistic ground and delivered a wildly original album, filled with imagination, huge hooks and even bigger beats.

Bigger than being just a dance album, You’ve Come a Long Way Baby was a genuine phenomenon, enjoying huge critical and commercial success; it contains 4 UK Top 10 singles, earning Cook a BRIT Award for best producer and two further nominations (Male Solo Artist and British Single) along the way. Embraced by the rock and pop press equally, the album was included in a Q magazine readers’ poll of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever,” and provided a global breakthrough for both British dance music and the Big Beat sound. Singles “Rockafeller Skank,” “Gangster Trippin” and anthemic UK Number One single “Praise You” (which scored 3 MTV VMA awards with its iconic Spike Jonze directed video) pushed dance music into the stratosphere, resonating with music fans and breaking electronic music to middle America. Norman Cook had caught lightning in a bottle, and in one genre-defining moment, the seeds of the noughties EDM US boom were sown, paving the way for the next generation of global superstars.

Fast forward twenty years and Fatboy Slim remains one of the most groundbreaking and prolific of the original Superstar DJs. Over the past eighteen months alone – as well as launching his own Beat 1 show and playing back to back with Eats Everything – he has played stages as diverse as Glastonbury, Reading and Leeds, his first Ibiza residency at Cream Amnesia, B2B with Eats Everything and in December of this year, headlined The O2 – essentially turning the 20,000 capacity venue into the biggest nightclub London has ever seen.

You’ve Come A Long Way Baby Tracklisting and format information:

CD Format

  1. Right Here Right Now
  2. Rockafeller Skank
  3. Fucking in Heaven
  4. Gangster Trippin
  5. Build It Up, Tear It Down
  6. Kalifornia
  7. Soul Surfing
  8. You’re Not from Brighton
  9. Praise You
  10. Love Island
  11. Acid 8000


LP Format


Side A

  1. Right Here Right Now
  2. Rockafeller Skank
  3. Fucking in Heaven

Side B

  1. Gangster Trippin
  2. Build It Up, Tear It Down
  3. Kalifornia

Side C

  1. Soul Surfing
  2. You’re Not from Brighton
  3. Praise You

Side D

  1. Love Island
  2. Acid 8000


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: