Splice Magazine

Licensed Publication of Splice Media Group

Tesla Unleash a New Level of Energy on Their Shock USA Tour

April 12, 2019 – Columbus, OH (Express Live) – 

The line was wrapped around the block with eager fans waiting to get the best position inside Express Live to see Tesla. With a sold-out event presented by QFM96, it was sure to be one for the ages. With a brand new release, Shock (March 8, 2019), this five-man electrical band is on a trek across North America and abroad.

Since the release of Mechanical Resonance (1986), Tesla has been cementing their legacy as a hard rock titan. Selling over 14 million albums in the United States alone shows that fans really associate themselves with their music.

Taking a step forward with their new 12-track album, they seem re-energized and ready to take on the world. Including flat-out rock songs, love ballads, and acoustic-styled gatherings, it doesn’t stray too far from the Tesla formula that has worked so well over the last four decades. Lucky for the crowd, they shared three of the new songs tonight.

Jeff Keith of Tesla ©2019 Allen Heimberger – Splice Media Group – Please Do Not Alter Images

The show opened with the blistering guitar led Tied to the Tracks from Shock (2019). The dueling guitars of Frank Hannon and Dave Rude got things off to an amazing start as Troy Luccketta’s drum beats and Brian Wheat’s bottom end kicked in. Jeff Keith approached the front of the stage and struck up his vocals and the sonic recipe was completed. It was nothing short of amazing.

Tesla is at the top of their game.

That statement is not to be taken lightly. It should not be surprising though, as chemistry is everything. Music for the love of music. It showed the entire night as they worked their way through classic hits, fan favorites, and brand new music.

Frank Hannon of Tesla ©2019 Allen Heimberger – Splice Media Group – Please Do Not Alter Images

The second song of the night was one of three they would play from Mechanical Resonance (1986) and Modern Day Cowboy is as relevant today as it was when it was recorded.

The Great Radio Controversy (1989) spawned songs three and four tonight. As Jeff stated before they played Be a Man, this was a song they had never played on tour before. What a great choice with bluesy slide guitar work as the song flows into the groovy hip-shaker it is. Following it up quickly with Heaven’s Trail (No Way Out) they had the heavy riffs and light melodies filling the venue.

Dave Rude & Brian Wheat of Tesla ©2019 Allen Heimberger – Splice Media Group – Please Do Not Alter Images

There was no wavering as these rock-n-roll legends continued through their set. With four original members, Tesla is doing what bands strive to do, play amazing high-energy shows and continue to entertain fans worldwide. Somewhere they have discovered a new level of energy, and the fans were eating it up tonight.

As they worked in cuts from albums Forever More (2008), Into The Now (2004), and Psychotic Supper (1991), they took a trip through their storied career.

Troy Luccketta of Tesla ©2019 Allen Heimberger – Splice Media Group – Please Do Not Alter Images

As they approached the latter portion of their set Frank saddled up to the acoustic guitar again for the beautiful opening instrumental to Love Song. The crowd sang along as the entire venue lit up with “Love is all around you, love is knockin’ outside your door…” making this the highlight of the evening. Keeping a heavy dose of acoustic guitar flowing, they finished the evening up with Little Suzi and Signs. Again, the crowd sang along as Tesla closed out the magical evening.

With a set clocking in over an hour and a half, the sold-out crowd seemed more than pleased with what they had witnessed. Sharing the night together with rockers, ballads, love songs, and Tesla!

There is no gallery selected or the gallery was deleted.


  1. Tied to the Tracks
  2. Modern Day Cowboy
  3. Be A Man
  4. Heaven’s Trail (No Way Out)
  5. Breakin’ Free
  6. Taste Like
  7. Miles Away
  8. Changes
  9. Caught In a Dream
  10. Call It What You Want
  11. What You Give
  12. Shock
  13. Edison’s Medicine
  14. Love Song
  15. Little Suzi
  16. Signs


Express Live / PromoWest: