Media Group

Bastille’s Other People’s Heartache Pt. 4 Is Out Today!

Other People’s Heartache Pt. 4 – the latest volume in Bastille’s series of mixtapes – was released today by Virgin Records. The collection sees the band return to the art of reworking other people’s songs. In addition to four cover songs, it includes re-interpretations of several Bastille originals. Guest artists include Craig David, Seeb, Kianja, Lily Moore, Rationale, Swarmz, Jacob Banks, S-X and others. See below for track listing.

Download / stream Other People’s Heartache Pt. 4 HERE.

It is fitting that Other People’s Heartache Pt. 4 opens with a stark cover of Cat Stevens’ “Wild World” featuring Kianja and closes with a similar re-work of Bastille’s own “wild world” quoting song “Warmth,” which features vocalist Moss Kena. The new collection serves as a bridge from the sentiments found on the band’s award-winning second album of the same name to its forthcoming third album, due early next year.

“We wanted to nod to our last album and acknowledge that at the time, you couldn’t help but feel anxious about the terrifying changes in the world and that since then, they’ve all come to pass and everybody’s living through the consequences,” explains Bastille front man Dan Smith. “Obviously these feel like perpetually stranger times, so it feels like different forms of escapism and distraction are more vital than ever.”

Following their 2017 collaboration on “I Know You,” Bastille reunites with Craig David for a version of soul duo Charles & Eddie’s “Would I Lie To You?” that also features Kianja The track wanders into trap territory courtesy of Wolverhampton producer S-X’s beats, then skyrockets into “All Of The Lights” era-Kanye fake brass and distorted beats. Craig David features alongside Kianja and South London rapper Swarmz on a cover of En Vogue’s “Don’t Let Go.” Rationale – who, like Kianja, is signed to Dan Smith’s label, Best Laid Plans – teams with James Arthur to help transform British garage duo Sweet Female Attitude’s 2000 hit, “Flowers.”

“There’s something liberating about taking songs that we remember affectionately and presenting them in a totally different light,” Smith says. “Like an homage or remake or even something a bit tongue-in-cheek, I think there’s something brilliant in music that connects with people being able to echo on through time via other people’s interpretations.”

Lead single “Grip” is a Bastille original that became a fan favorite when performed live but had heretofore not been released. Here, the guitar-heavy song is momentarily launched into the world of blissful EDM by Norwegian producers Seeb. “Grip” bears all the hallmarks of a Bastille song – euphoric, other-worldly, a little weird – but it’s also a departure from anything they’ve ever recorded, thanks to some bold pitch-shifting that sends Smith’s vocals to new heights. Listen to “Grip” HERE.

“This is way outside my comfort zone and that’s definitely a good thing,” Smith recalls. “It’s something we’d never have done but a good collaboration can stretch you, make you try something new and go to a different space, and be fun. Maybe it’s part of me mellowing out.”

Bastille’s searingly barbed “The Descent” is re-worked to feature some of the most impressive young vocalists around, Moss Kena, Jacob Banks and Lily Moore, then segues into a slow motion take on new album cut “Million Pieces.”

The Other People’s Heartache mixtapes began in 2012 as a way for the band to collaborate with other artists and experiment with different styles, genres and production techniques, using films and other people’s heartbreak songs as a canvas. Previous collaborators include Haim, Kate Tempest, Lizzo, Ella Eyre, Angel Haze, Rag’n’Bone Man, MNEK and Skunk Anansie.

Marshmello and Bastille’s hit single, “Happier,” has topped charts around the world, with cumulative streams nearing one billion. Certified Platinum in the U.S., “Happier” held the No. 1 position for three consecutive weeks on Billboard’s BDS and Mediabase/Top 40 Radio Airplay chart. It also recently topped Billboard’s Dance/Electronic Streaming chart and Dance/Electronic Digital Song Sales chart.

Hailed by Rolling Stone as “Britpop’s new crown princes,” Bastille was introduced internationally with the single “Pompeii,” which is now 6x Platinum in the U.S. alone. “Pompeii” and subsequent hits “Good Grief” (2016) and “Quarter Past Midnight” (2018) each topped the Mediabase Alternative chart in the States. The GRAMMY®-nominated band – comprising Dan Smith, keyboardist Kyle Simmons, bassist/guitarist Will Farquarson, and drummer Chris Wood – has sold upwards of 15 million adjusted singles and six million adjusted albums. Cumulative streams across all platforms exceed three billion. Last year, Bastille moved into the world of film soundtracks, contributing “World Gone Mad” to the Netflix film Bright. Starring Will Smith and Joel Edgerton, the film is one of the site’s most streamed programs ever.

Bastille will kick off 2019 with a sold-out U.K. and European tour.

Track Listing – Other People’s Heartache Pt. 4

1.       Wild World (Intro) ft. Kianja
2.       Would I Lie To You? ft. Craig David, Kianja and S-X
3.       Grip (Seeb & Bastille ft. Other People’s Heartache)
4.       Don’t Let Go ft. Craig David, Kianja & Swarmz
5.       Flowers ft. Rationale & James Arthur
6.       The Descent ft. Lily Moore, Moss Kena and Jacob Banks
7.       Warmth (Outro) ft. Moss Kena

Listen To Lead Single “Grip” By Seeb & Bastille Ft. Other People’s Heartache HERE

Marshmello + Bastille’s “Happier” Spends Three Consecutive Weeks At No. 1 On Billboard’s BDS And Mediabase/Top 40 Radio Airplay Chart


%d bloggers like this: